Best Screen Recording Software (2026): 8 Tools Compared

Screen recorders compared as of October 2026: OBS, Loom, Descript, Camtasia, ScreenFlow, CleanShot X and free built-ins, with prices, free-tier caps and specs.

PaschalUpdated 14 min read
Laptop with a dashed capture area, a webcam bubble and a red recording dot, cabled to an upright smartphone

This post contains affiliate links. If you sign up through them, Solo Ops Lab may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend; see the editorial policy.

You need to record your screen for a YouTube tutorial, a product demo or the 30-second preview on your App Store page, and most roundups rank twenty apps without saying which limit will stop you. This page compares eight options a solo creator or app founder actually chooses between, with prices, free-tier caps, resolution limits and audio support read off official pages on October 19, 2026. It also lists the two export specs those roundups skip: Apple’s app preview requirements and YouTube’s upload settings.

I record and edit my own videos, I cut them in Final Cut, and I have shipped apps of my own. What follows about each recorder comes from its documentation and pricing page, not from me claiming to have tested it. One link (Descript) is an affiliate link, placed where Descript is the pick for a specific job.

What is the best screen recording software? The quick answer

For a free YouTube tutorial with a face cam, OBS Studio is the default; most solo creators need one free built-in recorder and, at most, one paid tool picked by the job. The short version, with prices as of October 2026 from each vendor’s page on October 19:

Tool Best for Free plan First paid plan price Key limit
OBS Studio Free YouTube tutorials with a webcam Fully free, open source None No editor; remux MKV to MP4 before uploading
Mac built-ins (Shift-Command-5, QuickTime) Quick captures and App Store footage Included with macOS None System audio only on macOS 27 or later
Windows built-ins (Snipping Tool, Game Bar) Quick captures on Windows Included with Windows None Snipping Tool’s audio sources not documented
Loom Async replies sent as a link Starter: 25 videos, 5 minutes each, 720p Business $18/user/mo 720p and 5-minute cap on free
Descript Talking-head lessons edited by transcript 1 media hour a month, 720p, watermark Hobbyist $16/mo billed yearly ($24 monthly) Free export is watermarked
Camtasia Windows tutorials with a built-in editor Free editor download, watermarked Starter $39/yr (watermarked); Essentials $179.88/yr Yearly billing only
ScreenFlow Mac demos with a full timeline Trial, no time limit, watermarked $199 one-time Mac only
CleanShot X Short polished Mac demo clips None; 30-day money-back Basic $35 one-time Mac only; updates after year one cost $19/yr

The reasons for each are below.

How do the eight screen recorders compare on official pages?

OBS Studio and the built-in recorders are the only options with no price and no published cap; every paid tool trades money for editing, polish or a share link. Every cell comes from the vendor’s own pricing page, product page or help center, read on October 19, 2026. Where a vendor does not publish a number, the cell says so.

Eight rows of icons with filled and hollow dots, suggesting eight screen recorders compared across several limits

Recorder Price (as of October 2026) Free tier: length and watermark Max resolution / fps System audio Webcam overlay Editing Export
OBS Studio Free, open source; Windows, Mac, Linux No paid tier, no caps listed No cap published; you set it Yes; on macOS 13+ via the macOS Audio Capture source in OBS 30+ Yes, webcam as a source None; records and streams MKV recommended; built-in remux to MP4
Mac built-in (Screenshot app, QuickTime Player) Included with macOS No limits published Not published Screenshot app: “Include System Audio” on macOS 27 or later; QuickTime lists microphone only Screenshot app: none listed; QuickTime records the camera as a separate movie QuickTime: trim, split, rearrange, rotate Not published on the pages checked
Windows built-in (Snipping Tool, Game Bar) Included with Windows No limits published Not published Game Bar: choose All, game, mic, apps or system; Snipping Tool: not stated on Microsoft’s page Not published Snipping Tool hands the clip to Clipchamp; adjust or detach audio Game Bar: MP4 in Videos > Captures; Snipping Tool: not stated
Loom Starter free; Business $18/user/mo; Business + AI $24/user/mo; annual billing saves up to 17% 25 videos per person, 5 minutes each, up to 720p; branding removal only on Business Business: up to 4K; fps not published Yes, all plans Yes, cam bubble, all plans Business: trim and stitch; Business + AI: edit by transcript Business: upload and download; not listed for Starter
Descript Free; Hobbyist $16/mo and Creator $24/mo billed yearly ($24 and $35 month to month) 1 media hour a month, 100 one-time AI credits, 720p export with watermark Export up to 4K on Creator; fps not published Yes Yes Edit by deleting text in the transcript 720p free, 1080p Hobbyist, 4K Creator; share link with player
Camtasia Starter $39/yr; Essentials $179.88/yr; Create $249/yr; Pro $599/yr; yearly billing only Free editor download and Starter plan both export with a watermark 4K at 60 fps recording in Camtasia 2024 and later; discrete GPU needed for true 4K60 Yes, on its own track Yes Full video and audio editing from Essentials up Formats not listed on the pages checked; caption files export
ScreenFlow (Mac) $199 one-time; Super Pak $275 with first-year stock media Trial with no time limit, exports watermarked Not published Yes, “Record Computer Audio” Yes, any connected camera Full editor, captions, iOS device recording ProRes, MP4, animated GIF and APNG
CleanShot X (Mac) Basic $35 one-time with one year of updates ($19/yr after); Pro $10/user/mo billed annually No free tier or trial; 30-day money-back guarantee Quality, fps and resolution adjustable; maximum not published Yes, computer audio Yes, movable camera Built-in editor: smart zooms, cursor smoothing, backgrounds MP4 (H.264) or GIF; landscape, square or vertical

“Not published” means the vendor’s page does not commit to a number. It is not a hidden flaw, but it is a reason to run a 30-second test at your real settings before trusting a tool with a one-take demo.

What the table doesn’t tell you

The table hides the limits that actually stop a recording: free-tier resolution, system audio and what a subscription costs over years.

Two glowing sound ribbons, one from a microphone and one from a speaker, flowing toward a recording cube, the speaker path blocked

Free tiers cap the picture before they cap the length

Loom’s free Starter plan stops at 720p, five minutes and 25 videos. Descript’s free export is also 720p, with a watermark. Camtasia’s Starter plan costs $39 a year and still watermarks exports.

The resolution cap hurts more than the time limit. A 720p capture of code or a settings panel looks soft in a 1080p YouTube player, and no edit brings the detail back.

System audio is the quiet dealbreaker

If your tutorial plays a sound, demos a music app or includes a call, you need system audio, and the free tools are uneven. Apple’s support page lists “Include System Audio” in the Screenshot app only on macOS 27 or later, and its QuickTime screen-recording steps mention only a microphone.

OBS captures desktop audio natively on macOS 13 and later through the macOS Audio Capture source in OBS 30 or newer; older Macs need a third-party audio router such as Loopback. On Windows, Game Bar lets you choose which audio it records. Microsoft’s Snipping Tool page covers adjusting and detaching audio after capture but never says which sources get recorded.

Test it before a real session.

Subscription versus one-time, over three years

Run the arithmetic before you pay for anything. At the prices listed as of October 2026, over 36 months:

Tool and plan Math Three-year cost
Camtasia Essentials 3 × $179.88 $539.64
Loom Business, listed rate 36 × $18 $648, up to 17% less billed annually
Descript Hobbyist, annual rate 36 × $16 $576
CleanShot X Pro 36 × $10 $360
ScreenFlow $199 once $199, before any paid upgrade
CleanShot X Basic $35 once $35, with one year of updates

Two caveats. ScreenFlow’s store sells Premium Support ($59 a year) with “25% off future ScreenFlow upgrades,” so expect a major version to cost money at some point. CleanShot Basic includes one year of updates and charges $19 a year after that, while Pro is sold as always up to date.

Recorder or editor: decide who does the cutting

I cut every video in Final Cut, so for me a recorder only has to deliver a clean picture, clean audio and a file Final Cut opens without complaint. A recorder that ships its own timeline would be a second editor I never open. If you already own an editor, the same logic applies to you: pay for capture, not for a second timeline.

If you don’t own an editor yet, make that decision first. I compared six of them in video editing software for a solo YouTube channel, and the two most solo creators end up choosing between in Final Cut Pro vs DaVinci Resolve.

Tool notes: what each one is for

Each recorder below fits one job well, and the notes say which one.

Overhead view of a microphone, webcam, headphones, phone, cable and notebook arranged on a mustard background

OBS Studio

Free and open source on Windows, Mac and Linux, with unlimited scenes, an audio mixer with per-source noise suppression, and webcam, window and capture-card sources. It has no editor. OBS’s knowledge base recommends recording to MKV, because an MKV file survives a crash, then converting to MP4 through File > Remux Recordings or an automatic remux setting.

If you edit elsewhere and the budget is zero, this is the default.

Mac built-ins: Screenshot app and QuickTime Player

Shift-Command-5 opens the Screenshot app with Record Entire Screen and Record Selected Portion, plus microphone and countdown options. QuickTime Player adds trimming, splitting and rotating, and its New Movie Recording can use a connected iPhone or iPad as the camera. For quick captures and for App Store footage, a Mac owner needs nothing else.

Windows built-ins: Snipping Tool and Game Bar

Snipping Tool records a selected area with Windows key + Shift + R and sends the clip to Clipchamp for edits. Game Bar starts and stops with Windows key + Alt + R and saves an MP4 to Videos > Captures, named after the app you recorded. Use Snipping Tool for a region of the desktop and Game Bar when the subject is one app.

Loom

Loom is built for sending a link, not for publishing a file. The free plan’s 720p and five-minute cap make it a messaging tool, and that is fine for messages. Business removes the caps, records at up to 4K and adds trim and stitch. Skip it for YouTube unless your day job already pays for it.

Descript

Descript records screen, webcam, microphone and system audio on Mac and Windows, then lets you cut by deleting words in the transcript. That workflow is the whole reason to choose it. The free plan’s 720p watermarked export means a real YouTube upload needs Hobbyist or higher.

Camtasia

The full recorder-plus-editor on Windows and Mac, capturing screen, camera, system audio and microphone on separate tracks, at up to 4K 60 fps in the 2024 versions and later. TechSmith’s own guidance says integrated graphics won’t reach true 4K60, so a laptop without one should not count on 4K60. Billing is yearly only, and the cheapest plan without a watermark is Essentials at $179.88. It earns that price only if you record on Windows and own no other editor.

ScreenFlow

Mac only, $199 once. It records screen, camera, microphone and computer audio together, records iOS devices for app demos, and exports ProRes, MP4 and animated GIF. The trial never expires but watermarks every export, which makes it easy to judge before paying.

CleanShot X

A Mac screenshot tool that grew a capable recorder: MP4 or GIF, computer audio, a movable camera, click and keystroke overlays, and an editor with zooms that follow the cursor. At $35 one-time with a year of updates, it is the cheapest route to polished demo clips on a Mac.

What export settings do App Store previews and YouTube require?

An App Store preview must be 15 to 30 seconds at no more than 30 fps, while YouTube recommends an H.264 MP4 at the frame rate you recorded. Recording is half the job. The other half is exporting a file the destination accepts, and the two destinations an app founder meets first want different things.

A giant smartphone wrapped in a measuring tape with a stopwatch at its base, suggesting app preview size and length limits

Spec App Store app preview YouTube upload (recommended)
Length 15 to 30 seconds No fixed length in these settings
How many Up to 3 per device size and language n/a
Max file size 500 MB Not part of these settings
Container .mov, .m4v or .mp4 for H.264; .mov for ProRes MP4 with the moov atom at the front (Fast Start)
Video codec H.264 up to High Profile Level 4.0, target 10–12 Mbps; or ProRes 422 HQ H.264, High Profile, progressive
Frame rate 30 fps maximum Same rate you recorded at; 24, 25, 30, 48, 50 and 60 are common
iPhone resolution 886 × 1920 portrait for 6.1” to 6.9” displays (1920 × 886 landscape) 16:9 is standard on desktop
iPad resolution 1200 × 1600 portrait for 11” and 13” n/a
Mac and Apple TV Landscape only n/a
Audio Stereo, 256 kbps AAC, 44.1 or 48 kHz AAC-LC, Opus or Eclipsa Audio, 48 kHz
Bitrate, 1080p n/a 8 Mbps at 24–30 fps, 12 Mbps at 48–60 fps
Bitrate, 4K n/a 35–45 Mbps at 24–30 fps, 53–68 Mbps at 48–60 fps

Apple adds rules that aren’t numbers. A preview may show only what happens inside the app, so no people and no fingers tapping a device. Previews autoplay muted by default, which means on-screen text has to carry the message. When autoplay is off, viewers see a poster frame you pick (the default is the 5-second mark), and changing it on an approved preview means submitting the preview again.

Three places where recorders trip on these specs:

  1. Frame rate. Recording at 60 fps is fine for YouTube, but the App Store caps previews at 30 fps, so set it in the export, not only in the recorder.
  2. Container. OBS’s recommended MKV is what neither destination asks for; remux to MP4 before uploading.
  3. Resolution. Whatever size your capture comes out at, the uploaded preview has to match an accepted size, such as 886 × 1920 for current iPhones.

The capture path Apple documents is short. Connect the iPhone to a Mac, open QuickTime Player, choose File > New Movie Recording and pick the iPhone as the camera. Then edit in iMovie, which has a File > New App Preview project, or in Final Cut.

Having shipped apps of my own, I’d treat the store listing as the one launch asset with a spec you cannot argue with. A rejected preview costs a resubmission; a 30-second test export costs a minute. If the preview is part of a wider launch push, the rest of that plan is in how to promote an app with no budget.

Which screen recorder should you use for each job?

Use a free recorder for every job here except transcript-edited lessons and polished demos, where Descript, CleanShot X, ScreenFlow or Camtasia earn their price. The full decision list, with the one setting that matters for each job.

  1. App Store app preview: QuickTime Player with your iPhone as the camera, edited in iMovie’s App Preview project or Final Cut. It is free and it is the route Apple’s own pages describe. Export at 30 fps or lower.
  2. YouTube tutorial with a face cam and no budget: OBS Studio. Add a display or window source and a webcam source, record to MKV, then remux to MP4. On a Mac, add the macOS Audio Capture source when the tutorial needs system sound.
  3. Bug report or async reply to one viewer: the built-in recorder. If the viewer needs a link rather than a file, Loom’s free plan covers it inside 5 minutes and 720p.
  4. Talking-head lesson or podcast-style tutorial: Descript, because editing a transcript beats scrubbing a timeline when the content is mostly speech. Budget for Hobbyist at $16 a month billed yearly (as of October 2026) to get 1080p without a watermark.
  5. Polished Mac product demo for a landing page: CleanShot X at $35 for short clips with zooms and click overlays; ScreenFlow at $199 if you want a full timeline, captions and iOS device recording in one app.
  6. Windows course content with no separate editor: Camtasia Essentials, the lowest plan without a watermark, at $179.88 a year.
  7. You already edit in Final Cut, Resolve or Premiere: don’t buy a recorder with an editor. Use OBS or the built-in tool and cut where you already work.

More of the one-person setup lives in the tool stack section.

Pick the one job you will record most this month, install only the tool listed for it, and export a 30-second test against the spec table above before you record anything that matters.

Frequently asked questions

Which free screen recorder has no watermark?

OBS Studio is free and open source with no paid tier, so there is nothing to upgrade out of. The recorders built into macOS (Shift-Command-5 and QuickTime Player) and Windows (Snipping Tool and Game Bar) also cost nothing. Loom's free plan stops at 720p and five minutes, and Descript's free export is 720p with a watermark.

Can a Mac record system audio without extra software?

It depends on the macOS version. Apple's support page lists an Include System Audio option in the Screenshot app on macOS 27 or later, and its QuickTime instructions mention only a microphone. OBS Studio 30 or newer captures desktop audio natively on macOS 13 and later through its macOS Audio Capture source.

What frame rate and length does an App Store app preview need?

Apple's App Store Connect specifications allow 15 to 30 seconds, up to three previews, a 500 MB maximum file and 30 fps maximum for both H.264 and ProRes 422 HQ. Current iPhones with 6.1-inch to 6.9-inch displays take 886 x 1920 in portrait. Record at whatever rate you like, but export at 30 fps or lower.

Does OBS record MP4 for YouTube?

OBS's own knowledge base recommends recording to MKV, because an MKV file survives a crash, then converting with File > Remux Recordings or the automatic remux-to-MP4 setting. YouTube's upload guidance recommends an MP4 container, so remux before you upload.

Is Loom's free plan good enough for YouTube tutorials?

Not really. As of October 2026 the free Starter plan allows 25 videos per person, five minutes each, at up to 720p. That is fine for a quick reply to one person, but a 720p recording of code or settings looks soft in a 1080p player. Loom's Business plan lifts the limits to unlimited length at up to 4K.

Sources

  1. OBS Project — OBS Studio
  2. OBS Knowledge Base — macOS Desktop Audio Capture Guide
  3. OBS Knowledge Base — Standard Recording Output Guide
  4. Apple Support — How to record the screen on your Mac
  5. Apple Support — QuickTime Player User Guide
  6. Apple Support — Record a movie in QuickTime Player on Mac
  7. Microsoft Support — Use Snipping Tool to capture screenshots
  8. Microsoft Support — Record your screen with Xbox Game Bar
  9. Loom — Pricing
  10. Descript — Pricing
  11. Descript — Screen recorder
  12. TechSmith — Buy Camtasia (plans)
  13. TechSmith — Camtasia
  14. TechSmith Support — Guidelines for 4K 60FPS Recording and Editing
  15. Telestream — ScreenFlow store
  16. Telestream — ScreenFlow overview
  17. Telestream — ScreenFlow help: Using the Configure Recording window
  18. CleanShot X — Pricing
  19. CleanShot X — Features
  20. Apple Developer — App preview specifications
  21. Apple Developer — Show more with app previews
  22. Apple Support — Create an app preview in iMovie on Mac
  23. YouTube Help — Recommended upload encoding settings

screen-recordingobs-studioloomdescriptcamtasiascreenflowcleanshot-xapp-storeyoutube

This article is general information based on the author's experience. It is not licensed financial, legal, or tax advice. See the editorial policy.